hero's journey by christopher vogler
Writing craft

The Hero’s Journey

The Hero’s Journey is not about rules. It is a collection of common structural elements found universally in the world of storytelling. It is an observation of patterns and principles found in myths, fairy tales, novels, movies, dreams, etc.

The intention of being aware of them is not about “following rules”, but rather being able to use them, play around with them, and recreate them in new ways and combinations. Most importantly, they are here to help you, not restrict you.

Stages of the Hero’s Journey

  1. Ordinary World
  2. Call to Adventure
  3. Refusal of the Call
  4. Meeting with the Mentor
  5. Crossing the First Threshold
  6. Tests, Allies, Enemies
  7. Approach to the Inmost Cave
  8. The Ordeal
  9. Reward
  10. The Road Back
  11. Resurrection
  12. Return with Elixir

I hope you’ll join me over the next few Wednesdays as I’ll dive deeper into each of these stages (here and over on Instagram). Don’t forget to also subscribe to my newsletter.

Thank you for being here ๐Ÿ–ค

See you next week with the first stage!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *